BeRuEn

The word kimono in Japanese is used to refer to clothes in general. It is more correct to call training clothes for Japanese martial arts as keiko-gi (from the words keiko – training and gi – clothes) or dogi. Clothes for different martial arts have a number of essential differences; to emphasize the kind of clothing in question instead of keiko the name of martial art is often indicated. Thus, clothing for Aikido is called aikido-gi, for Judo – judo-gi, for Karate – karate-gi, etc. However, the word kimono is already well established in the meaning of clothing for trainings in martial arts.

Kimono for Aikido trainingsKimono has many dimensions: length of jackets, sleeves width, the length of the slots on the jacket, long pants, waist girth, and others. But you may need all these only if keiko-gi is needed for a competition, where clothes must meet strict requirements. When choosing a kimono for everyday training in Aikido you should usually be guided by three parameters: the height of a man, the density and type of fabric.

Height of a man and keiko-gi size

Kusakura kimonoBudo-Nord kimonoKimono must be chosen according to height. If the height is specified on the kimono there is no problem. However, manufacturers often specify not the height, but the size on the product. This can cause difficulties especially when choosing komono in an Internet shop.

We present here a table of correspondence between keiki-gi numbers and height and size of usual clothes.

Usual clothes sizes are given only for comparison, so you should not rely solely on them. It is better to measure your height and round it up. Do not forget that kimono is made of cotton, so in the process of washing it will shrink. So, you must have a small margin from 5 to 10 centimeters. Also, please, note that each manufacturer produces kimono by its own curves. Therefore, kimono from different manufacturers of the same size will sit on you differently.

If there is a possibility to try the kimono on, then in addition you may be guided by the following criteria:

  1. Kimono should not hamper your movements and sit tight on you; it must not be "slinky".
  2. The lower edge of the jacket (uwagi) must be midthigh.
  3. At wrapping over each jacket flap must reach the opposite side seam.
  4. Sleeves must not cover the wrists.
  5. The belt (obi) should be of such a length that it could be double-wrapped around the waist, and after making the ends they should be slightly below the bottom of the jacket

Fabric density

The density of kimono fabric is specified either in ounces (OZ) or in g/m2. All manufacturers of the products usually specify in the parameters the density of jackets and pants separately; as jackets and pants are made of cloth of different density (the fabric of pants is less dense). The denser the fabric, the greater its specific gravity.

From the consumer point of view, all kimonos can be divided into two types.

Smooth textureKimono with a smooth texture – the fabric has a low density (from 200 to 400 g/m2), soft to the touch; the kimono is light, it is used for Karate, Taekwondo and other martial arts, in which there are no throws, captures and holds. Sometimes karate-gi is used for Aikido trainings. However, you should be aware of the fact that such a kimono becomes unusable faster. In addition, at making captures your partner can grab your skin together with your kimono. It is hardly enjoyable.
Woven textureWoven kimono – the fabric has a higher density (from 400 to 750 g/m2), thicker to the touch; such kimono is heavier, it is used for trainings in Aikido, Judo, Aiki-Jutsu, Ju-Jutsu and other martial arts, where throws and grabs are applicable.

There are also kimonos made of double and triple weave fabric with a density of 750–1000 g/m2; the fabric is very firm to the touch, keeps excellent shape. Such kimonos are more suitable for competitions, performances or exams.

Thus, for Aikido beginners it is more practical to choose a single weave kimono.

Fabric of kimono

Traditionally kimono is made of 100% cotton. Cotton fabric is hygienic; it pleasantly fits to the body, absorbs sweat and is well-ventilated. However, cotton kimono has drawbacks: it is easy to crumple, shrinks in the wash, and eventually turns yellow. Now kimono is usually made of cotton, containing polyester fibre. It gives kimono a snow-white tidy look, saving positive properties of cotton. But as the fabric contains cotton the kimono will shrink at washing. Some manufacturers perform preliminary antishrink cloth trim. In this case, the kimono has minimal shrinkage or does not shrink at all.

Thus, when buying a kimono you need to ask the seller of what material kimono is made and whether antishrink cloth trim was performed. After that, decide what size you need.

Pay attention to the following

When choosing a kimono for Aikido trainings you should pay attention to the following:

  1. Only white kimonos are used for Aikido.
  2. On the shoulders, chest and back of the jacket there should be strengthening of the fabric, which is very well visible on the wrong side.
  3. The jacket collar should be thick, but soft.
  4. If the jacket flaps have laces, then at training the jacket will not throw open, and you'll look tidier.
  5. Usually, the pants (zubon) are worn out much faster than the jacket (uwagi). So pay more attention to the pants quality. The fabric of the pants must be thickened on the knees.
  6. The pants belts are of two types: with an elastic band and with drawstrings. A belt with an elastic band better fits in the waist, but the drawstrings are more reliable and durable.
  7. The kimono cost depends on the size, fabric density and manufacturer. A Japanese keiko-gi (Kusakura, Mizuno, Tozando) is an expensive garment, while the Chinese (Budo-Nord, Demix) and Pakistani ones (Green Hill, Wacoku, Matsa, Tengu) are much cheaper.

Where you can buy a kimono in Belarus?

There are several sporting goods stores, where you can buy uniforms and equipment for martial arts. Here are some links.

See also

Share

BeRuEn
Меню

Слово кимоно в японском языке используется для обозначения одежды в целом. Тренировочную одежду для японских единоборств правильно называть кэйко-ги (от слов кэйко – тренировка и ги – одежда) или доги. Одежда для разных единоборств имеет ряд существенных отличий, чтобы подчеркнуть, о какой именно одежде идет речь, вместо слова кэйко часто указывается название единоборства. Таким образом, одежду для айкидо называют айкидо-ги, для дзюдо – дзюдо-ги, для каратэ – каратэ-ги и т.д. Тем не менее, за словом кимоно уже довольно прочно закрепилось значение – одежда для занятий восточными единоборствами.

Кимоно для занятий айкидоКимоно имеет множество размеров: длина куртки, ширина рукавов, длина прорезей на куртке, длина штанов, обхват талии и другие. Но это вам потребуется только в том случае, если кэйко-ги нужно для соревнований, где к одежде предъявляются четкие требования. При выборе кимоно для повседневных занятий айкидо обычно ориентируются на три параметра: рост человека, плотность и материал ткани.

Рост человека и размер кэйко-ги

Кимоно для айкидо KusakuraКимоно для айкидо Budo-NordКимоно выбирается по росту. Если рост указан, то проблем нет. Однако часто производители на изделии указывают не рост, а размер. Это может вызывать трудности, особенно если вы заказываете кимоно в Интернет-магазине.

Приведем таблицу соответствия размера кэйко-ги, роста и размера обычной одежды.

Размер обычной одежды здесь указан лишь для сравнения, поэтому не стоит ориентироваться только на него. Лучше измерить свой рост и округлить его в большую сторону. Не забудьте, что кимоно изготавливается из хлопковой ткани, поэтому в процессе стирки оно даст усадку. Значит, необходимо иметь небольшой запас от 5 до 10 сантиметров. Также примите к сведению, что каждый производитель изготавливает кимоно по собственным лекалам. Поэтому при одинаковых размерах кимоно различных производителей будет сидеть на вас по-разному.

Если есть возможность примерить, то дополнительно можно руководствоваться следующими критериями:

  1. Кимоно не должно сковывать движений и сидеть на вас плотно, "в облипку".
  2. Нижний край куртки (уваги) должен доходить примерно до середины бедра.
  3. При запахивании каждая пола куртки должна доходить до противоположного бокового шва.
  4. Рукава не должны закрывать запястья.
  5. Пояс (оби) должен быть такой длины, чтобы его можно было дважды обернуть вокруг талии, а после завязывания концы были чуть ниже нижнего края куртки.

Плотность ткани

Плотность ткани кимоно указывается либо в унциях (OZ), либо в г/м2. Все производители в параметрах изделий обычно указывают плотность куртки, поскольку куртка и штаны изготавливаются из ткани различной плотности (ткань штанов имеет меньшую плотность). Чем плотнее ткань, тем больше ее удельный вес.

С потребительской точки зрения все кэйко-ги можно условно разделить на два типа.

Гладкая фактураКимоно с гладкой фактурой – ткань имеет невысокую плотность (от 200 до 400 г/м2), на ощупь мягкая; кимоно легкое, используется для занятий каратэ, тхэквондо и другими единоборствами, в которых нет бросков, захватов и удержаний. Иногда для тренировок по айкидо используют каратэ-ги. Однако вы должны учитывать, что такое кимоно придет в негодность гораздо быстрее. Кроме того, при выполнении захватов за куртку ваш партнер вместе с кимоно может прихватывать и кожу. Приятного в этом мало.
Плетеная фактураПлетеное кимоно – плотность ткани выше (от 400 до 750 г/м2), на ощупь более толстая; кимоно более тяжелое, используется для тренировок по айкидо, дзюдо, айки-дзюцу, джиу-джитсу и в других единоборствах, где применяются захваты за куртку и броски.

Также выпускаются кимоно двойного и тройного плетения с плотностью ткани от 750 до 1000 г/м2; ткань на ощупь очень твердая, отлично держит форму. Такое кимоно больше подходит для соревнований, показательных выступлений или экзаменов.

Таким образом, начинающим для занятий айкидо практичнее выбирать кимоно одинарного плетения.

Материал кимоно

Традиционно кимоно изготавливаются из 100% хлопка. Хлопковая ткань гигиенична, приятно прилегает к телу, хорошо впитывает пот и проветривается. Однако кимоно из хлопка имеет недостатки: оно легко мнется, усаживается при стирке и со временем приобретает желтоватый оттенок. Сейчас кимоно чаще изготавливают из хлопковой ткани, содержащей волокна полиэстера. Это придает ему белоснежный опрятный вид, сохраняя положительные свойства хлопка. Но поскольку ткань содержит хлопок, то кимоно при стирке сядет. Некоторые производители проводят предварительную противоусадочную отделку ткани. В этом случае кимоно дает минимальную усадку или не садится вообще.

Поэтому при покупке необходимо узнать у продавца, из какого материала сшито кимоно и проводилась ли противоусадочная отделка. После этого принимать решение, какой размер вам нужен.

На что обратить внимание выбирая айкидо-ги?

При выборе кимоно для занятий айкидо следует обратить внимание на следующие детали:

  1. Для занятий айкидо используются кэйко-ги только белого цвета.
  2. На плечах, груди и спине куртки должно быть усиление ткани, которое очень хорошо видно с изнаночной стороны.
  3. Ворот куртки должен быть толстым, но мягким.
  4. Если на полах куртки имеются завязки, то на тренировке куртка не будет распахиваться, и вы будете выглядеть опрятнее.
  5. Обычно штаны (дзубон) приходят в негодность гораздо быстрее, чем куртка (уваги). Поэтому обратите более пристальное внимание на качество изготовления штанов. На коленях обязательно должно быть усиление ткани.
  6. Пояса на штанах бывают двух видов – на резинке и на завязках. Пояс на резинке лучше облегает талию, однако завязки надежнее и долговечнее.
  7. Стоимость кимоно зависит от размера, плотности ткани и фирмы-производителя. Кэйко-ги японского производства (Kusakura, Mizuno, Tozando) будет стоить дороже, китайского (Budo-Nord, Demix) или пакистанского (Green Hill, Wacoku, Matsa, Tengu) – дешевле.

Где купить кимоно в Минске?

В Минске есть несколько спортивных магазинов, где вы можете приобрести экипировку и снаряжение для восточных единоборств. Вот несколько ссылок.

Также смотрите:

Поделитесь с друзьями: